Skip to main content

Table 1 Hierarchical structure of the top two levels of information collected from forest biomass harvesting guidelines grouped within 8 general categories and 46 mid-level categories

From: Sustainable forest biomass: a review of current residue harvesting guidelines

General categoriesa Mid-level categories General categories Mid-level categories
Meta-data   Soil  
  Reference   Sensitive soils
  Queries   Soil—other
  Scope   Compensation
  Science background   
  Guideline development Biodiversity  
  Relationship to SFMb   Habitat protection
  Applicable land   Habitat retention
  Strength   Habitat enhancement
  Monitoring   Seasonality
  Adaptive management   
   Water and aquatic ecosystems
Forest management   Water quality
  Forest management   Leaching
Forest biomass component   Shade
  Harvesting residue   Riparian zones
  Litter layer/forest floor   Water flow
  FWDc+foliage   Exposed mineral soil
  CWDd   Contamination
  DWMe   Stream crossing
  Large woody debris and logs   Seasonality
  Stumps   Wetlands
  Thinnings Carbon/GHGs
  Live trees or patches of trees Carbon/GHGs
  Live decaying trees   
  Snags Social values
  Cavity trees   Aesthetics/recreation
  Mast trees   Archaeology/history/culture
  Den trees   
  1. aSee Additional file 1: Table ST-2, for complete hierarchy with additional 136 detailed categories and 40 sub-detailed categories extracted from Additional file 1: Table ST-1
  2. bSustainable forest management
  3. cFine woody debris
  4. dCoarse woody debris
  5. eDowned woody material