Skip to main content

Table 2 Jurisdictions (countries, states or provinces) or regions within a country with forest biomass harvesting guidelines

From: Sustainable forest biomass: a review of current residue harvesting guidelines

Codea Jurisdiction Guidelineb Code Jurisdiction
State Regionc
USA     Canada  
AL Alabama State SE-USA NB New Brunswick
AR Arkansas   SE-USA PE Prince Edward Island
DE Delaware (also in SE)   NE-USA   
DE Delaware (also in NE)   SE-USA Europe  
FL Florida   SE-USA ATb Austria
GA Georgia   SE-USA DK Denmark
IN Indiana State   FI Finland
KY Kentucky State SE-USA FR France
LA Louisiana   SE-USA   
MA Massachusetts State NE-USA ITb Italy
MD Maryland (also in SE) State NE-USA LTb Lithuania
MD Maryland (also in NE) State SE-USA NL Netherlands
ME Maine State NE-USA NOb Norway
MI Michigan State   SE Sweden
MN Minnesota State   UKd United Kingdom
MO Missouri State    
MS Mississippi State SE-USA SE Asia  
NC North Carolina State SE-USA JPb Japan
NH New Hampshire   NE-USA   
NJ New Jersey (also in SE)   NE-USA   
NJ New Jersey (also in NE)   SE-USA   
NY New York   NE-USA   
OH Ohio   SE-USA   
OR Oregon   PNW-USA   
PA Pennsylvania State NE-USA   
SC South Carolina State SE-USA   
TN Tennessee   SE-USA   
TX Texas (eastern TX only)   SE-USA   
VA Virginia State SE-USA   
VT Vermont State NE-USA   
WA Washington   PNW-USA   
WI Wisconsin State    
WV West Virginia   SE-USA   
  1. aJurisdictions are sorted within major global regions by two-letter country codes (ISO 3166, except for UK), state codes for the USA (ANSI), and Canadian provincial codes (Canada Post)
  2. bGuidelines for Austria, Italy Lithuania, Norway and Japan are from forest management guidelines or certification standards, and are included to expand the breadth of OECD countries covered
  3. cCodes are for the Northeast of the USA (NE-USA), the Southeast of the USA (SE-USA) and the Pacific Northwest of the USA (PNW-USA)
  4. dThe United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is represented by “UK” because “GB” (as used in ISO) is commonly used for Great Britain alone, and the UK Forestry Standard applies to the entire UK