Skip to main content


Editorial Board


Daniela Thrän, DBFZ Deutsches Biomasseforschungszentrum, Germany


Ramteen Sioshansi, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, USA

Managing Editor:

Dagmar Fiedler, UFZ-Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung GmbH, Leipzig, Germany

Editorial Board:

Maarten J Arentsen, University of Twente, The Netherlands
Georg M Gübitz, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Hon Loong Lam, The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus, Malaysia
Thomas Maskow, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Germany
Antonio Messineo, Kore University of Enna, Italy
Luis Mundaca, Lund University, Sweden
Jingzheng Ren, University of Southern Denmark and Nanjing University of Information Science & Technology, Nanjing, China
Peter Saundry, Johns Hopkins University, USA
Liselotte Schebek, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany
Yen Kheng Tan, Energy Research Institute @ Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany

Advisory Board:

Hans-Jörg Bauer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
Michel Chatelier, CEA, France
Luigi Crema, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
Nicolaus Dahmen, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
Zhen Fang, Nanjing Agricultural University, China
Rebecca Ford, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
Armin Grunwald, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
Pradipta Halder, University of Eastern Finland, Finland 
Richard Hawryluk, Princeton University, USA
Lorenz Hilty, Empa, Switzerland
Thomas Johansson, University of Lund, Sweden
Sabine Kleinsteuber, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Germany
Thomas Kolb, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
Reinhard Madlener, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Tony Pereira, Fulbright Scholar, USA
Ortwin Renn, Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS), Germany
Audun Ruud, SINTEF Energy N, Norway
Louis Schlapbach, ETH, Switzerland
Helmut Seifert, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
Horst Steinmüller, Energy Institute University Linz, Austria
Gernot Stöglehner, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Austria
Jianzhong Sun, Jiangsu University, Jiangsu, China
Arnaldo Cesar da Silva Walter, University of Campinas, Brazil

Affiliated with

Annual Journal Metrics

Institutional membership

Visit the membership page to check if your institution is a member and learn how you could save on article-processing charges (APCs).

Funding your APC

Open access funding and policy support by SpringerOpen​​

​​​​We offer a free open access support service to make it easier for you to discover and apply for article-processing charge (APC) funding. Learn more here